Chrome Search Google For This Image Disappeared, Fixed

One day I noticed that in Chrome the option to right click on an image and select “Search Google for this image” had disappeared and was no longer there. After digging around on the ole interwebs a bit, I was able to tie things together and get the issue fixed.

As it turns out, if you’re default search engine in Chrome is not set to Google, the option disappears. Even more surprising to me, even though I did have Google set as my default search engine, the URL it was using was an explicit one and not the one below. If you’re running into the same issues I was, make sure the Google search engine URL is correctly set to the following (all one line):

{google:baseURL}search?q=%s&{google:RLZ}{google:originalQueryForSuggestion}{google:assistedQueryStats}{google:searchFieldtrialParameter}{google:bookmarkBarPinned}{google:searchClient}{google:sourceId}{google:instantExtendedEnabledParameter}{google:omniboxStartMarginParameter}ie={inputEncoding}

After making those two changes, my beloved “Search Google for this image” option was reborn like a phoenix from the ashes! And now I could right-click and search pictures of those ashes to see where they originated! Neat!